Personal tools

Personal tools

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories
National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians
A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.
National Archives: State Archives
Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006
Cyndi’s List
A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)
Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Iowa Genealogical Society
IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.
State Historical Society of Iowa
A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.
Society of American Archivists
Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.
Clayton County IAGenweb
Genealogy records of interest from Clayton County, IA
Digital Archives
Look up archives of The Guttenberg Press and some issues of The Clayton County Journal, The Garnavillo Press, Mississippi Valley Register, Clayton County Herald, and Elkport Ledger. A donation from the estate of Irene and Oakland Becker has made it possible for the library to offer these archives online. Thank you to Gary Howe for permission to publish online. Search by keywords, name, or year. http://guttenberg.advantage-preservation.com/
1940 Census
Link to the census as well as digital images.
Guttenberg City Cemetery Survey
Link to research and spreadsheet created by Jessica Klein. Contains a list of surnames in alphabetical order.
Other Local Genealogy Information
Additional resources for genealogy and local history
Digital Public Library of America
Historical documents, images, and video recordings from across the United States.